Godin, “It’s Important To Charge SOMETHING”

Apple’s move into online movie rentals is setting right another misconception (this time, one of THEIR own): Online movie rentals are the way to go and pricing models matter. As Seth Godin points out… Free ain’t going to cut it. He posits 99 cents. I dunno about that. Apple’s probably taking it in the shorts badly at that pricepoint. ‘Course having a premium tiering for HD is absolutely right. The model of rent v. buy is going to have a halo effect on BUYING too.

No one’s really glommed onto this little tidbit yet (‘cept maybe those wiley folks at Apple). Imagine all the content we’re going to have less expensive access to in the form of rentals. If Apple will create just one more tier like “Rent now and apply $2 to purchase price of the movie within 60 days”… I bet they’d get a big boost in their movie sales. Frankly, if I rent something from Blockbuster now and like it… I typically buy it. I may be odd guy out on that one. Still, it’s a bit of programming on their part and they’re still net ahead of the game. As it is, when a rental expires… all the cookie crumbs of that transaction evaporate. Seems like wasted energy to me. They could covert a fraction of us to upgraded owners with just a little more effort.

Apple sure doesn’t need our help Monday morning quarterbacking their business models. They’re doing okie dokie without us meddling kids running around. :)

Explore posts in the same categories: Apple, iTunes

One Comment on “Godin, “It’s Important To Charge SOMETHING””

  1. Alison Says:

    Hello,

    My name is Alison Nhaesi and currently I am enrolled in the IBO program. I have written a research paper on iTunes price probe that took place May of 2007 which has caused a big fuss all around European countries.
    The EU launched an inquiry into what Apple’s online music store; Itunes store charges unfair prices for customers in different places.
    I am sure this issue has crossed most of you. Now, I am going to add an extension to my research paper by conducting an interview with someone who has insight or was involved in this issue. The interview questions are really simple, straightforward and most of them require your own opinion responses. This can be done simply by email which should not take much time. If any one can help me with this please contact me on; a_nhaesi@hotmail.com
    I would appreciate all the help I can get.
    Cheers,
    Alison


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

