Where’s RSS Headed?

Was just reading Greg Reinacker’s post on NewsGator’s roadmap. And, while we could all be happy with nothing more than our 1,318 feeds on ‘autonotify on new’ we’d be silly to think nothing new was coming down the pike.

As if 1,318 feeds wasn’t enough there’s going to be auto discovery of content this middleware concludes we might like. Recommendations. Blah, blah, blah, blah, BLAH!. Feature bloat is something I guess we have to live with.

Personally, I’m liking the new Safari (Mac only, sorry guys) deal I’ve adopted. It has cut my unnecessary visiting of blogs WAY, WAY, WAY down. And, consequently has shot the number of feeds I watch WAY, WAY, WAY up! I’m not kidding. 1,318 feeds. Every 30 minutes or so it shoots out it’s tendrils to ask… is anything new out there? I don’t notice any kind of a performance hit or anything. It just plain rocks.

The ONLY thing I want for my next RSS feature is two way commenting. I guess that’s called IM, huh?

Explore posts in the same categories: RSS, Safari

Leave a Reply

