Creating an RSS Feed (Mac)

Several people have asked me how I create my non-blog-related RSS feeds.

Short answer is a snap – I use Feeder from Reinvented Software and then publish the files to the roots of my sites. See, if they’re sitting at the root, most RSS enabled browsers and plugins and agreggators will automatically detect the xml files allowing your visitors to subscribe.

There’s a bit more that goes into the production end. But, not by much. Feeder is one of those potentially very complex apps that can do amazing things (QuickSilver, InDesign and the like come to mind). Or, if you’re not inclined to go gonzo with it you can make good things happen scratching the surface, like I do.

My feeds currently have enclosures and the bare minimum of embedded HTML formatting. I seldom put graphics in… but have been known to on occassion.

I haven’t a clue on the Windows side of life. I’m sure your options are about 9,000 fold. Happy hunting 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Apple, Apple/OS X, Feeder, MacOSX, Marketing, RSS

Leave a Reply

