A Disgusted Republican

My Republican’s have had a majority long enough to move the mountains. All they’ve done is move mountains of cash. And that in the wrong direction along with all the ethical antics.

So, I was good for my word yesterday morning. I voted for only one Republican (Istook who was running for Oklahoma Governor as a non-incumbent). Otherwise it was all Independents and the occassional Democrat. I didn’t vote for a single incumbent.

And guess what? I didn’t make much of a dent. Most incumbents on my ballot were retained. (Too bad) But, the picture on the national scale was considerably different. It’s obvious to all who will listen. Mr Mehlman… ARE you listening? Our Republicans have lost their way. Not all. But, enough to spoil the barrell of apples. The President has ruined his mandate. The Congress ruined its chance to make sweeping changes – education, spending, infrastructure, minimum wage. OK, the Supreme Court is kind of sewn up. That was more luck of having a psuedo conservative in office at the time than anything.

I’m not disgusted about the shift in Congress. I’m elated actually. This is the only reprimand a Congressman understands.

Explore posts in the same categories: politics, republican

4 Comments on “A Disgusted Republican”

  1. sledgehbk Says:

    I actually ally myself on the other side of the fence, but I’m more conservative than most Democrats. You really hit the nail on the head. A lot of folks voted for a moderate coservative in George W Bush, but he proved to be neither. I’m looking forward to some civil discussions and cooperative action.

    I think the “Coburn-Obama Bill” database of federal spending that recently passed is a good example of how to start. When folks stop to actually talk things out and leave behind the talking points and partisan trickery, wow, things can actually get done.

    What a novel concept. Keep up the good work.

  2. gwhiz Says:

    Hey Sledge, thanks for dropping in. Coburn’s a terrific human being. He just exudes, “I’m a normal guy trying to make the system better.” I’m all for transparency on the federal spending. I think a lot of the baloney would vanish from the system and find a way to happen off the books though. (Cynical? Uhm, yeah.)

    Come by here any time for civil discussion 🙂

  3. benbarnard Says:

    You’re probably right about the “off the books”, but hey, it’s a start.

    And I live in Illinois, one of the three most corrupt states in the country. Cynicism is required here. And it’s taxed. Thanks, Governor Rod!

  4. gwhiz Says:

    Novel concept! If the feds get wind of taxing cynicism we’ll be out of deficit spending in no time flat, could fund all the underfunded pensions AND put every child on American soil through the obligatory 7.2 years of college. 🙂


Leave a Reply

