The Brave 300

Landed at LAX just a bit ago. First thing on my agenda after arranging my affairs at the hotel was to find the closest screening of 300. Making my way back to the hotel after the movie all I could do was think about the plot, the choreography of the scenes, the costumes, the musical score (which was definitely not Spartan). Even the credits… sheesh! Did Quentin T. have a hand in this thing!?

I read the “Hot Gates” some years ago. Liked it. Frank Miller’s version of the story is typically glorified and heightened to match the legend. Very nicely done and most definitely among the first movies I will want to own on Blu-Ray.

NOT a chick flick… or, put another way… a very few chicks are going to appreciate it the way I think it was intended. ’nuff said.

Tomorrow’s full of meetings. Sunday… a Russian submarine tour in the Long Beach harbor (next to the Queen Mary). Any up for a get together?

Explore posts in the same categories: 300

One Comment on “The Brave 300”

  1. fintanp Says:

    Haven’t seen the 300 yet but I recommend “Gates of Fire” by Steven Pressfield. It strikes me as a much more realistic and reserved telling of the story than 300. I read it a few years ago, around the same time Gladiator came out, and thought it would make a great movie. Apparently George Clooney’s production company have optioned the rights but so far nothing has happened…

    — Fintan


Leave a Reply

