Inhabited Planets = Old Religions?

“In the beginning, God created the HEAVENS and the earth.”

Does this simple yet powerful sentence intimate the mysteries of other habitable planets? I dunno.

When I read “Cosmos” by Dr. Carl Sagan I was struck by the sheer number of possible habitable planets “out there”. Imagine one of these days we have irrefutable proof we’re not alone in the Universe… that there ARE others out there. What might that do to the fragile fabric of Christianity, Islam, Judaism? (Correct me if I’m wrong but most other religions allow for the distinct possibility the heavens ARE populated by other beings…)

Or, do you think the previously mentioned faiths would adapt to the new reality and remain “relevant”?

Explore posts in the same categories: Astronomy, Religion

3 Comments on “Inhabited Planets = Old Religions?”

  1. David Says:

    OMG- you TOO?! Is every geek blogger interested in cosmology and religion now? Of course there must be others! The universe is so FUCKING HUGE!!! HUGER than HUGE!

    Sorry to quote scripture, but you started it …

    Revelation 3:12 (King James Version)

    Him that overcometh will I make a pillar in the temple of my God, and he shall go no more out: and I will write upon him the name of my God, and the name of the city of my God, which is new Jerusalem, which cometh down out of heaven from my God: and I will write upon him my new name.

    What else could properly shock a species so jaded and self-destructive?

  2. gwhiz Says:

    Don’t know what other bloggers are hitting this so heavy. But, I’m sure interested in it. Seriously! What kind of religious impact (if any) would a humanoid or a primate on Europa have!?

    For sure, scientifically it would INSTANTLY create a draw for funding all kinds of crazy stuff. But religiously what kind of backlash would occur?

  3. David Says:

    OK, well not this particular topic, but permutations of it. Like whether god exists or not. Discovering life anywhere else would have a huge impact, or, as often portrayed on TV, would be hushed up so as not to keep the masses from their busy work of making the money move.

    I think religions have a better mechanism for absorbing ET than the secular world. Ever read Arthur C. Clarke’s Childhood’s End? Sort of a precursor to 2001 A Space Odyssey, it dealt with the result of intelligent ETs coming to earth and taking over.

    I’m not a bible beater, but here’s John 10:16…

    “And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd.”

    Think a nice spacecraft is slightly overdue for a landing on the Mount of Olives? Or will they wait until the hysteria reaches its full crescendo?


Leave a Reply

