ZFS = HELL YES!

Oh, mama!

I really like what Apple’s put at our fingertips with the ZFS 1.1 seed. Right now it’s all tucked into Terminal and diskutil. But, holy smokes! When this makes it to DiskUtility.app I can see lots of people doing lots of very cool things with highly expandable storage pools. It’s so stupifyingly simple.

I was talking with Kevin Mooney at TulsaConnect (one of my data hosting facilities) and he was talking about how they have some very clever methods of growing and allocating storage across their facility. Absolutely blew my mind.

Storage is a beast I’ve always thought of as, “Need more? Go get a drive. Format it. Mount it. Fill it. Rinse. Repeat.” That is, until the XServe RAIDS. Then I added a little smarts (not much, just some). But, now…! I’m thinking some of what Kevin was talking about is at hand (ie, consumer level). MY hand no less! Cool.

Explore posts in the same categories: leopard, tulsaconnect, ZFS

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “ZFS = HELL YES!”

  1. Mark Says:

    So I gather the USB/Firewire pool worked then? Superb!

  2. gwhiz Says:

    Oh my, my, my. Yes, it worked alright.


Leave a Reply

