Tiger’s Filevault vs. Leopard’s Time Machine

My Time Machine sessions are failing in Leopard due to old Tiger FileVault settings. Going to talk a bit and then spill the beans. (It comes down to turning OFF FileVault in Tiger BEFORE you perform an upgrade)

The Leopard upgrade went really well. A little quicker than expected even.  Only have this one reservation so far: I ran with FileVault “on” in Tiger. When I did the Upgrade (as opposed to the clean install and manual migration of files/apps) Time Machine is now complaining when I turn Time Machine on. At first it was the “Your chosen Time Machine disk doesn’t have enough space.” So, throwing away a lot of crud solve that. Now the complaint is that Leopard doesn’t like the version of FileVault I had been using… The suggestion from the system is to turn FileVault off and then back on. OK. Trying that gets me the error… “There’s not enough space to turn FileVault ‘off’.” So, CRAP! I can’t get there from here without shuffling a LOT of music, movies and pictures off to a temporary drive and then turning off FileVault.

This isn’t something I could have anticipated on my real day to day production machine. My development machine has had various flavors of Leopard running for over a year now with no seriously bad flaws. It’s not until you get into a real world situation like this where the bugaboos rear their heads and force you to improvise.

Hopefully this saves someone some grief at a beneficial time (before you install Leopard and not after).

Explore posts in the same categories: FileVault, leopard, Time Machine

4 Comments on “Tiger’s Filevault vs. Leopard’s Time Machine”

  1. Peter Lindvall Says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing this information! I was just wondering about how TM and FV got along. Never would have thought of deactivating FV before upgrading.
    Backup is a good thing. Backing up with encryption is better. Backing up with encryption that can be restored and decrypted to any computer is better. And finally, if it is done in the backgound with a smart difference algorithm to some remote location – then it is perfect.


  2. I upgraded with FV on, had space to turn it off and on again, did so, and TM isn’t backing it up. Going into my home dir in TM just gives me no revision history – although my apps appear to be getting backed up. Well ain’t that useful?

  3. Mario Wolczko Says:

    When I tried to enable TM I got a message saying that I had to turn FV off and then on again, so turned it off and went to bed while it did its thing.
    Now, when I try to turn it on again I get:

    “You have Time Machine turned on. Time Machine backs up folders protected by FileVault only when you are logged out. You cannot browse or restore individual items of the protected home folder in the Time Machine backup. You can restore all files and folders by using Restore System, available in the Mac OS X Installer.”

    In other words, TM is useless if FV is on.

  4. Christian de Larrinaga Says:

    Yes I agree TM and FV are not good bedfellows.

    I have filled a 500GB drive with only 55 GB of data on a MB Pro sitting in a FV account over only 34 hours of Time Machine backup. Despite taking up all this space when I checked the data, I could not find any of the data for that FV account (even whilst logged into that account )just a non FV account on my MacBook Pro.


Leave a Reply

