My US iPhone No Workie In UK. Why?

I bought my iPhone on day 1 in the US. This is the first time I’ve roamed outside the US with it. So far I think my mileage is not so hot. Don’t know if this is typical or I might have a crucial setting wrong.

In the Settings -> Carrier deck I see Orange – UK, Orange – UK, Vodafone, and T-mobile-UK (and the good ole standby… Automatic). I’ve tried each one, shut-down, restarted… No joy.

What am I missing? What have I done wrong? Please help if you can.

[EDIT: It doesn’t get any better in Dubai. “No Service” here too. CRAP!]

Explore posts in the same categories: iPhone

One Comment on “My US iPhone No Workie In UK. Why?”

  1. Ron Denton Says:

    May be an issue with “turning on” international roaming with AT&T. You may have to have AT&T throw the switch to allow this. They will probably run another quick credit check as it is possible to run up a large bill in international roaming. Sorry I didn’t think about this earlier and let you know. Guess I am deliberately trying to purge the cell phone business from memory. Here is a link to a story about this issue. http://www.portfolio.com/views/blogs/market-movers/2007/07/22/using-the-iphone-abroad
    If this is not the issue, then I am mystified too. Clearly the device is seeing the available networks and should be able to use them. Best. RD


Leave a Reply

