What Do YOU See?

This isn’t some Rorschach inkblot test or anything like that. I’m curious to know how the following graphical concept is interpreted at this stage before it advances any further. Thanks in advance for your comments!

UPC
Explore posts in the same categories: grocery, UPC

9 Comments on “What Do YOU See?”

  1. Ali B. Says:

    I am not sure what should I see here, but my first impression is that the linearity of the barcode graphic and the randomness of the strokes beneath it, just don’t match.
    Until you tell us what is this, you can’t blame my cluelessness πŸ™‚

  2. Roger Taylor Says:

    I think this is art. It represents the corporate/govermnental oppression which is shown by the tall straight lines at the top. We are the debris at the bottom representing our oppression under THE MAN………. I should be an art critic….;-)

  3. Mark Says:

    At first glance, it’s nothing more than a barcode. Looking in a bit more depth I would ask if the horizontal line is supposed to represent a knife or a cut and the mess underneath, the cuttings from the barcode bars? If that’s the case, it would be interesting to see if it’s any more immediately obvious if the “cuttings” were straight and if they were closer to the barcode itself.

    Of course, I could be barking up entirely the wrong tree, but that’s what *I’m* seeing anyway.

  4. Mark Says:

    Following that train of thought, is it supposed to represent a price cut?


  5. OK, proof the class is awake. Good.

    Topside is a UPC and the horizontal line represents a paper shredder. The litter pile below is what’s left of the barcodes. It’s a poster concept I’m kicking around for my startup. I’m fishing for some kind of a graphical essay to signify “There’s a change coming in how grocery shopping gets done”. I know this isn’t it. But, I’m hard pressed to come up with a visual that gets my point across.

  6. Roger Taylor Says:

    OK, so my art comment was way off the mark.
    I see what you are getting at. I recommend, as I think others here have, to have the cut away bottom be more linear, but have them folding over or bending as they are being cut, so that you can tell that they were part of the UPC code. What you have here looks like a scan gone bad with smudges at the bottom —-IMAO. πŸ˜‰


  7. Roger, you’re still a dork and I ban you postwith. πŸ™‚ … doesn’t mean you’re not right though.

    Kiss Rebecca and the kids for us. Hope to see you guys sometime soon.

  8. Angie Says:

    OK…here’s what I saw at first take. It looked like a stage to me, the bar code was the curtains, and the pieces at the bottom was the audience dancing…kind of a mosh pit. Sorry, I’m weird.


  9. You know Ang… from you, it makes all the sense in the world. πŸ™‚

    Hope you guys are doing well.


Leave a Reply

