Email Marketing…

I use that term very loosely these days. A good portion of what I do in my day job is, in fact, sales and marketing. The other portion is more “evangelizing” what the not-for-profit association I work for has to offer. Salesy? To be sure. But, it’s more awareness, branding and thinking a bit outside the box more than anything else. A lot of the time I find myself doing the equivalent of ringing the dinner bell and opening the door. That dinner bell is an important catalyst and forms the basis for a book I’m in the process of outlining for eventual publication.

So, enough of that. Back to email marketing…  I’m fortunate in that the day-job allows me a great deal of latitude to try things (first the corporate podcasting thing for instance, RSS feeds, blogging, etc). The environment I work in is very much a scientific one encouraging experimentation, analysis and follow-through. I had thought email marketing was going to be a bust for us in all honesty. Quite the opposite happened. In fact, if you’re interested in what I’m up to by day… drop me a comment with your email address and I’ll include you in the emailing in the next few days (don’t worry, I won’t publish your email address anywhere and it will be just this one email). See… I announce the availability of our peer-reviewed journal every month. We’ve cut the printing by about 2/3 on the circulation saving a gob of money on printing and postage in the process. It became necessary to “remind” people when the new issue came online. Otherwise, many of them forgot to check what was in the latest issue. Taking it a bit further though, I’ve been adding audio abstracts of the articles in the Alex Voice from Leopard. And, guess what!? They’re being listened to on a regular basis. Know this due to web analytics (which I’ll talk about more in a later post).

Remember, if you’d like to receive the next emailing of the announcement… just comment (and trust me, I won’t publish your comment/email addy anywhere).

Explore posts in the same categories: Alex

Leave a Reply

