MobileMe SMTP Error Solution

MobileMe from Apple

I LOVE MobileMe. Syncing with my iPhone has been great. iDisk is great. Up until recently even mail was a much improved experience over the old dot mac. Lately, I have been having a bad time of sending mail through MobileMe from Mail.app. Even though webmail and iPhone mail have worked fine, I went through all 12 stages of grieving in about a day. Then, with a cleared head, found the solution.

So, if you’re receiving this error (or something like it) check out this article at Support.Apple:
“MobileMe: Issues sending messages in Mail or other email applications”
http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1152?viewlocale=en_US

Turns out I needed to change my port number FROM 25 to 587 and turn on ssl. For good measure I also turned all the mail and smtp.mac.com references to .me.com references.

All is now good.

Explore posts in the same categories: Apple

Leave a Reply

