REVIEW: StarTech DS128

I receive a LOT of product review requests and I turn down the majority of them. I just don’t have time to evaluate stuff I either won’t use or couldn’t possibly recommend based on my own lack of interest. But, once in a very long while, a PR rep will be uber persistent and slip one by. That’s what happened with the StarTech DS128.

So, let this be a warning to other PR folks out there… When I tell you I’m more interested in something specific (iPhone related kit or such) please just move on to better bloggers out there who can and will give you a fair review – the kind you’re looking for.

REVIEW

The DisplayPort to DVI Dual Link (USB powered) converter connects Displayport to DVI, HDMI and VGA at some rather impressive upper end resolution (2560 x 1600). I’d never know though: with my older MacBookPro I couldn’t muster the components necessary to put the unit through the paces. Despite asking the PR rep if I should simply send the unit back… I kept getting a persistent “Do you plan to review?” line of questioning. As if I hadn’t asked if I could send it back. So… here’s the nut of the review. It’s neither good nor bad because I couldn’t adequately test it.

On the PLUS side… the StarTech.com catalog is friggin AWESOME. You thought RadioShack had all the goodies? Oh no, my friend, StarTech carries some pretty exotic stuff that I’d wholeheartedly suggest you geek out to when you have a chance. (At least I found something positive to offer, right?)

Explore posts in the same categories: StarTech DS128, technology

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

