Macs + Airsoft = An FPS Game

The craze among kids these days is Airsoft. Once the kids start blogging about Airsoft… it’s either on the rise or it’s jumped the shark. (Hint: it’s too early to have jumped the shark).

So, I’m trying to mashup my love for the Mac platform, my love for tinkering and coding and mash all that up with FPS and MMO gaming. I’ve found an FPS platform I think may be able to accommodate all of the above…

It’s been a long time since I “wrote” a game from the ground up. Think it was a move-based-game back in 1985’ish with my friends Russell and Erik. We banged it out over a weekend on a TRS-80 and wrote it in BASIC. Forget how many lines of code we laid out, it was a lot more than anything else we’d taken on before. It wasn’t what I’d call a shippable product. But, it was a more-than-solid beta with pixel collision detection (easy), variables for terrain “encumberances” – which simply meant groups moved slower across bogs and mountains than in flat terrain or ships on water. We even took a crack at group vs. group combat rules as I recall. It was an algorithmic attempt at allowing for large scale combative encounters.

The whole thing was somewhere between a digital Penté and World of Greyhawk. And now I’m about to be up to something equally entertaining.

Explore posts in the same categories: technology

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

