Leopard Decided My Printer

The recent announcement HP printers might just have a helluva time with Leopard clenched my decision for my printer purchase. Needed one now and want to be sure there won’t be any issues with the next major release of OS X.

So, what’d I go with? Picked up a nice little Canon Pixma MX310 all-in-one at the Tulsa Apple Store. Liking it VERY much. Haven’t tried the fax capabilities. But, if the printer and scanner are any indication…

Now, I’m VERY spoiled with all the recent Apple UI upgrades. Coverflow, multi-touch… I’m NOT liking these text heavy interfaces on things like printers and digital cameras. Wonder how long it’ll be before these little interfaces will start benefitting from advanced human computer interfaces?

Explore posts in the same categories: leopard, MX310, Pixma

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Leopard Decided My Printer”

  1. Mark Says:

    > The recent announcement HP printers might just have a helluva time with Leopard

    Which announcement was that? I must’ve missed that one.

  2. gwhiz Says:

    Mark –

    See http://tinyurl.com/27k8tv (links to an Apple Insider article). I’ve had nothing but grief with HP kit on my Macs be it scanners, printers… they’re always a bit… “off” in the implementation. So, I’ll draw some attention to the fact HP is lagging on Leopard.

    The fact Apple’s working so closely with them tells me A) HP is important in the ecosphere of Apple and B) from a purely offensive stance if they didn’t they’d get plowed from a support standpoint. Best to tackle it now and get ahead of the issue than get clobbered by it later.


Leave a Reply

