Thanks Mr. Scoble for the Shins

Please, consider adding the gwhiz blog to your RSS feed reading. Thanks!

I monitor a TON of RSS feeds. And, then I monitor a ton more by way of Robert Scoble’s link blog. In Guy Kawasaki speak… he eats like a hummingbird and poops like an elephant. If you don’t yet subscribe to Mr. Scoble’s link blog you might consider it. There are some fine gems in that poop! 🙂

I find his tech interests are largely where mine are too. We diverge in some places but the cool thing is his interests are nicely rounding out my own “blind spots”. I’m a lot more plugged in and engaged in the ebb and flow of the industry because of his link blog. Om Malik’s properties are that way too (highly recommend those).

For instance Fred Wilson’s feed, who’s opinions I’m finding I value very much, reveals he’s a big indy music guy. His family consumes it like popcorn. So, I learn a lot of interesting indy music stuff… FROM A VC!? Yep. And, Robert just lobbed in a goody yesterday about the Shins and how their piracy situation has turned into a big selling boon to their latest release (thanks Mr. Scoble!)

That link of Robert’s led me down a path to DivX’ Stage6 where there’s a great video of The Shins’ Phantom Limb. I’m finding I love the DivX encoder (have two Pro licenses going for free if you’re interested) and the quality it has over all the stock codecs Apple ships with Final Cut Studio Pro. Man this stuff rocks!

Explore posts in the same categories: Apple, DivX, Robert Scoble, Stage6, The Shins

One Comment on “Thanks Mr. Scoble for the Shins”


  1. […] and thanks Gerald Buckley for the kind words about my link blog. Filed under: Apple @ 7:19 pm […]


Leave a comment